Search This Blog

Monday, 5 September 2011


The legend of the Vastu Purusha is related thus. Once a formless being blocked the heaven from the earth and Brahma with many other gods trapped him to the ground. This incident is depicted graphically in the Vastu Purusha Mandala with portions allocated hierarchically to each deity based on their contributions and positions. Brahma occupied the central portion - the Brahmasthana - and other gods were distributed around in a concentric pattern. There are 45 gods in all including 32 outer deities.
  • North- Kubera - Ruled by lord of wealth (Finance)
  • South- Yama - Ruled by lord of death - Yama (Damaging)
  • East- Indra - Ruled by the solar deity- Aditya (Seeing the world)
  • West- Varuna - Ruled by lord of water (Physical)
  • Northeast {Eshanya} - Ruled by Shiva
  • Southeast - Agni - Ruled by the fire deity - Agni (Energy Generating)
  • Northwest - Vayu - ruled by the god of winds (Advertisement)
  • Southwest - Pitru/Nairutya, Niruthi - Ruled by ancestors (History)
  • Center- Brahma - Ruled by the creator of the universe (Desire)
The Vastu Purusha is the presiding deity of any site. Usually he is depicted as lying on it with the head in the northeast and legs in the southwest but he keeps changing position throughout the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment